Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Home RSS

Marshall County

May 15, 2013

The first settlement made within the Marshall County area was by John Wetzel in 1769. The early settlers relied on upon Fort Henry, located where Wheeling is today, for protection from Indian attacks.

Marshall County was formed from Ohio County in 1835. The county is named for John Marshall, a chief justice of the U.S. Supreme Court.

Coal mining has been, and remains, an important industry for the county.

Article Photos

Moundsville is the county seat and largest city in the county. The town is named for a huge Indian Mound located in the town that was built by the Adena people thousands of years ago.

The former West Virginia Penitentiary is located in the town and is open for tours.

Source: The 55 West Virginias: A guide to the State's Counties, by E. Lee North, Published by The West Virginia University Press.

Fact Box

Population: 35,519

Land in square miles: 307

Number of people per square mile: 115.7

I am looking for: