Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Home RSS

Monongalia County

May 15, 2013

Monongalia County was the size of the state of Delaware when it formed in 1776. The county would later be divided into a total of 20 counties, including three in Pennsylvania and 17 in West Virginia.

During the Cvil War the residents of the county were very opposed to secession and supported the creation of the new state.

Running through the county is the Monongahela River. The river has been used since the early settler to receive supplies and deliver goods to market.

Article Photos

The county sits atop one of the most valuable coal seams in the world. Coal production began after the Civil War and remains a strong industry.

Morgantown, the county seat, was founded around 1766 by Col. Zackquill Morgan. The town is home to West Virginia University , the state's largest educational institution.

Source: The 55 West Virginias: A guide to the State's Counties, by E. Lee North, Published by The West Virginia University Press.

Fact Box

Population: 81,866

Land in square miles: 361

Number of people per square mile: 226.7

I am looking for: