Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Home RSS

Monroe County

May 15, 2013

Located in the southern portion of the state, Monroe county features both gentle plateaus and ridges of the Alleghenies.

Attracted by the fertile land, settlers first moved into the area about 1760.

The county was formed from parts of Greenbrier County in 1799 and is named for James Monroe, fifth president of the United States. The county is one of five in the state named for presidents.

The county lies just outside of the coal producing areas of the state so did not go through the boom and bust era that much of the state did during the 1900s. The population has remained between 11,000 and 15,000 for the past century.

The county is home to several mineral springs.

The county seat is located in Union, a town named for the fact that it was meeting place for troops and settlers during the Indian Wars of the mid-18th century.

Fact Box

Population: 14,583

Land in square miles: 473

Number of people per square mile: 30.8

Source: The 55 West Virginias: A guide to the State's Counties, by E. Lee North, Published by The West Virginia University Press.

I am looking for: