Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Home RSS

Counties named for U.S. Presidents

May 15, 2013

Jefferson County

Formed from Berkeley County in 1801 and named for Thomas Jefferson, third president of the United States.

Monroe County

Formed from Green Bier County in 1799 and named for James Monroe, our Fifth President

Jackson County

Formed from parts of Kanawha, Wood and Mason Counties in 1831 and named for the seventh president, Andrew Jackson.

Lincoln County

Formed in 1867 from parts of Kanawha, Cabell,, Putnam and Boone Counties and named for Abraham Lincoln, sixteenth president of the United States.

Grant County

Created from Hardy County in 1866 and named for General ( soon to be President) Ulysses S. Grant.

Source: The West Virginia Book of Lists by Gerald Timlinson and Richard C. Weigen

I am looking for: